Navigation ToggleSearch Toggle

National Standards Resources

In 2014, Western Australia adopted the six new National Standards for Disability Services (the Standards) that promote nationally consistent quality standards for the disability services sector. Since 1 July 2014, the Standards have applied to all services either funded or delivered by the Department of Communities; and National Disability Insurance Scheme providers (registered through the Department of Communities' panel contract) operating in Western Australia.

The Standards form the basis of the WA Quality System and are used to assess the quality of services delivered by providers. The Standards:

  • promote human rights
  • encourage good practice and continuous improvement of services.

Australian Government National Standards for Disability Services resources

The Australian Government Department of Social Services (DSS) has produced a number of resources to support the implementation of the Standards. These include:

  • Full version provides an overview of each Standard and indicators of practice. The indicators of practice describe what services need to do in order to meet each Standard and what individuals, and their families, friends, carers and advocates can expect.
  • Evidence guide provides evidence examples for each indicator of practice. The evidence guide helps Disability Service Organisations (DSOs) understand and apply the Standards in practice.
  • Stories provide examples of what each Standard could look like in practice.
  • Conversation tool provides guidance on how to promote the Standards and engage people in conversations about the Standards.
  • Easy English version designed for people who have difficulty reading and understanding written language.
  • Easy English posters to display in the workplace.

These national resources are available from the DSS website.