Navigation ToggleSearch Toggle


Latest information

WA to start full-scheme roll-out from 1 July 2017

The State and Commonwealth governments have made an announcement that will see Western Australia begin a phased, full-scheme roll-out of a State-based, locally-driven NDIS from 1 July next year.

The NDIS in Western Australia will be completely nationally consistent with key Scheme rules and core NDIS principles. This means that the eligibility criteria, the provision of reasonable and necessary supports and, most importantly, choice and control for people with disability in WA will be the same as in all other states – facilitating a fully portable national system.

With this announcement the NDIS in WA can be shaped to meet the needs of people with disability in WA, no matter where they live. The NDIS in WA will evolve based on the experiences of people with disability and continue to be refined over time by the disability community.

The State and Commonwealth governments will now work closely to negotiate a bilateral agreement that consolidates the detail of the arrangement. Both governments recognise that these negotiations are complex and that it is important to get them right - including ensuring national consistency. 

Close engagement will also continue with people with disability, their families and carers, and the broader disability sector, to ensure that the NDIS that is delivered in WA best meets the needs of the tens of thousands of West Australians who will benefit from it.

For full details on the announcement, read the joint State and Commonwealth Minister’s media statement.

For more details about the NDIS in WA read ‘WA NDIS – Answers to your questions’ in our fact sheets and publications section of the website.


The WA National Disability Insurance Scheme (WA NDIS) is the State Government’s model of the NDIS. It supports eligible people with disability to create a plan and gain access to appropriate supports and services based on their needs and goals.

Eligible people in the Lower South West, the Cockburn-Kwinana area, and in the local government areas of Armadale, Serpentine-Jarrahdale and Murray can take part in the WA NDIS.

For more information about what the WA NDIS offers, see ‘What is the WA NDIS?’.

Can you take part?

To see if you may be able to take part in the WA NDIS, use Am I Eligible? to step through a short assessment.

New areas join the WA NDIS

1 October 2016 saw the (WA NDIS) expand into the local government areas of Armadale, Serpentine-Jarrahdale and Murray. An anticipated 1,400 additional people with disability in the three areas will be able to create a plan for their lives which includes the support and services that will work best for them.