Navigation ToggleSearch Toggle

News 2017

Commission to join the Department of Communities from 1 July

Date: 28/06/2017

The Disability Services Commission is to join three other West Australian human services agencies – Child Protection and Family Support, Housing and Communities – to become the Department of Communities from 1 July 2017.

The restructure follows Premier Mark McGowan’s announcement on 28 April that the number of State Government departments would be reduced to create a more efficient and effective public sector.

The Public Sector Commission is administering the change, which will see 41 WA Government departments reduce to 25.

The new Department of Communities is expected to result in a more inclusive delivery of human services to people throughout Western Australia. 

Interim Chief Executive Officer Grahame Searle said the amalgamation offered huge opportunities.

“The new Department of Communities will bring together a huge range of human supports and services under the one roof,” Mr Searle said.

“This new portfolio presents a rare opportunity – to use what will be our collective knowledge to best meet the needs of the clients, families and communities that we will jointly serve."

From 1 July the Department of Communities will continue to ensure people with disability have access to quality supports and services as the Commission has done for the past 30 years.

All front line service delivery, including Local Coordination, will continue as it has done. For the time-being people with disability and their families and carers can be assured the amalgamation will have no effect on their supports and services.


Page last updated: 28/06/2017